top of page

3 movements for bassoon and piano

Circadia for Bassoon and Piano

  • Three movements for Bassoon and Piano. Commissioned by Carolyn Beck. The three movements are titled: 1. Cycles - Commissioned by Carolyn Beck, "Circadia", a sonata for bassoon and piano in three movements, refers to the daily pulse, rhythms and cycle of activities observed in many living organisms. The first movement, "Cycles", is a wild and disjointed chase between the instruments. The cyclic rhythms vary between a triplet motif with the bassoon both chasing and being chased by the piano, and a more jazzy section with the two instruments figuratively and literally playing with one another. The movement ends with the instruments playing the original motif ensemble. 2. Nightfall - Since the horrible events of 9/11, our world seem to be moving with harrowing speed toward the precipice of Armageddon. The second movement, "Nightfall", is a reflective, melancholy and brooding piece which mirrors the descent from day into night. Finally "Spring Ahead" (which refers to the change to daylight savings time in the spring) is a ray of hope in which bassoon and piano have fun cavorting and playing tricks on one another. 3. Spring Ahead - Lori Alexander, composer writes: "Your piece was rich with ideas... very full harmonically, and melodically:... A very, very substantial, moving and impressive work. Congratulations!"
  • three movements for bassoon and piano
bottom of page